Conference’ speakers

Peter Burman was Professor of Cultural Management at the Brandenburg Technical University, Germany (2007-2012) located in the Centre for World Heritage Studies which was part of the Department of Architectural Conservation. From 2002 to 2007, he was Director of Conservation for the National Trust for Scotland.

Édith Prégent holds a civil law degree from the University of Ottawa; she is a doctoral candidate in art history and research fellow at the Canada Research Chair in Urban Heritage ESG-UQAM.

Dr. Ulla Kjær is senior researcher at the National Museum of Denmark and responsible for the Antiquarian-Topographical archive as well as for antiquarian work with churches.

Dr. Anneli Randla, Associate Professor in the Department of Conservation at the Estonian Academy of Arts and currently she serves as the dean of the Faculty of Art and Culture at the academy.

Annemarie Rothe, Architect, M.A. European Cultural Heritage. She works in Berlin and specialised in building preservation and restoration.

Trevor Cooper. Chairman of the Historic Religious Buildings Alliance (, which brings together those working for a secure future for historic religious buildings in the UK.

Dr. Theodosios Tsivolas. “Zannis, Tsivolas & Partners Law Firm” (Athens, Greece), Centre for Law and Religion (Cardiff Law School) and Editorial Committee for the biannual Review of Ecclesiastical and Canon Law “Nomokanonika”.

Scott Wham. Director of the newly established practice Wham Architecture and was recently appointed to develop the Cowal Churches Together project as a pilot study for the wider church.

Sonja Hahn. Art historian (M.A.) Chairwoman of the committee in the association as well as in the trust “Entschlossene Kirchen”

António Manuel Torres da Ponte Regional Director of Northern Portugal Regional Directorate for Culture, since 2013.

Becky Payne. Between 2003 and 2010, Becky was the Policy Officer in the Church Buildings Division, Church of England.

Mara Popescu, PhD.c.arch. Member ICOMOS and FRH. Organisation: Romanian National Commission for UNESCO

Bernd Henning. Civil engineer and architect. Director of the Jugendbauhütte Brandenburg-Berlin.

Johan van den Mooter is project coordinator for religious heritage at Kempens Landschap vzw.

Jan Jaspers, director, department of immovable religious heritage within the Center for Religious Art and Culture (CRKC).

Angus Fowler. 1996-2006 Chairman of FAK Berlin-Brandenburg; Chairman of DenkmalWacht Brandenburg-Berlin.

Jokin Asiain Iraeta obtained his Architecture degree at the Polytechnic of Madrid and his MSc at Oxford and Oxford Brookes Universities.

Dr. Anna Madurelli, Tour manager at the Higher Institute for Religious Studies “S. Maria di Monte

Ornella d’Andrea. Director of Chorus, a non profit organization for the care and safekeeping of the Venetian churches since 2009.

Rita Sartori is a professional guide and President of Venezia Arte, a not-for-profit cultural association, since 2009. Collaborates with Chorus, the network of Venice historic churches, as an external expert.

Dr. Kim de Wildt. Lecturer and researcher at the Institute of Catholic Theology of the TU Dortmund at the chair of Didactics of Religion. Currently she is teaching and researching at the Department of Liturgy at the Faculty of Catholic Theology at the University of Bonn.

Rosi Lister, MPhil, regional director for the Churches Conservation Trust.