2023 Jury

2023 Jury




Anne Grady (Ireland)

Anne is a seconded cultural heritage expert from her role as Head of Development with the National Museum of Ireland to the CULT Committee of the European Parliament. Amongst other duties, she co-ordinates and assists Members in drafting non- legislative reports and opinions, and defines policy lines in addition to advising on the European Commission’s proposals relating to cultural heritage.

In Anne’s senior management role with the National Museum, she was responsible for a number of areas including ICT, governance, business planning and the development of a wide range of museum activities, policies and guidelines. 

In Anne’s previous position as seconded expert with the European Commission, she played a key role with the management of the European Year of Cultural Heritage 2018 and led a Member States’ working group (Open Method of Coordination – OMC) on the subject of sustainable cultural tourism.


Gilles Guey (France)

After studying French literature, Gilles Guey started teaching. He was afterwards appointed as cultural assistant in the French Institute in Lilongwe in Malawi. He was then working as director of the Alliance Française in Chandigarh in India. His third posting abroad for French Foreign Affairs was as director of the Alliance Française in Torreon in Mexico.

He then started working for municipalities in France, first as director of Culture in Noisy-le-Sec and from 2009 onwards, as director of Culture in Roubaix.

Since 2022, he is the president of the Association of Directors of Culture of French Large Cities and Urban Areas.



Justin Kroesen (The Netherlands)

Justin Kroesen is Professor of Cultural History at the University of Bergen specialising in the material culture of Christianity, and research curator of the Church Art Collection at its University Museum.

His research focuses on church interiors and furnishings during the Middle Ages and in the era of the Reformations. His present project concerns the survival of medieval art in Lutheran churches in Germany. From 2004‑2015, he was a lecturer on the art history of Christianity at the University of Groningen (the Netherlands).

Beyond academia, Kroesen is a member of the council of Future for Religious Heritage in Brussels and collaborates with several museums and other heritage organizations in Norway, the Netherlands, and Spain.



Greg Pickup (United Kingdom)

Greg Pickup joined The Churches Conservation Trust as Chief Executive in September 2022. Prior to this Greg was CEO of Heritage Lincolnshire, one of the largest building preservation trusts in the country.

Greg’s career in heritage began at the National Lottery Heritage Fund, following which he managed several projects, most recently Nottingham City Council’s Carrington Street Townscape Heritage Scheme and the Other Stories LGBT History Project for the charity Derbyshire LGBT+.

He served on the Board of Trustees of the Arkwright Society and is also on the Board and Grants Panel of the Architectural Heritage Fund.



Florian Trott (Germany)

Florian Trott studied culture and communication management in Potsdam and Berlin as well as Italian at the Università per stranieri di Perugia. He is working as the managing director and member of the board of directors of the Staatliche Kunsthalle Karlsruhe since September 2020. He is also responsible for the museum’s digital strategy.

From 2017 he headed the Communications department at the Kunsthalle, and from 2008 to 2016 he worked as Head of Communications and Education at the Luther Memorials Foundation in Saxony-Anhalt.