The Churches Conservation Trust wins a Europa Nostra Award 2015

The Churches Conservation Trust wins a Europa Nostra Award 2015

The Churches Conservation Trust, England’s national charity for protecting historic churches at risk and FRH member since 2012, has been recognised by the EU Prize for Cultural Heritage “Europa Nostra Awards”. FRH is extremely proud of this prize: CCT is an example of creativity and innovation at work for Europe’s cultural and religious heritage.

Considered Europe’s most prestigious prize in the heritage field, the 2015 EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards recognises 28 winners across 29 countries.

The winners are honoured for outstanding achievements in four categories:

  • conservation,
  • research and digitization,
  • dedicated service to heritage
  • education, training and awareness-raising.

The award to the Churches Conservation Trust is in the category of Dedicated Service by Individuals or Organisations, and recognises contributions over a long period of time that demonstrate excellence in the protection, conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe, far exceeding normal expectations in the given context.

Furthermore, “CCT has played a significant role in the foundation of the Future of Religious Heritage Network”.

The Jury admired particularly the Churches Conservation Trust’s early recognition of the importance of safeguarding the religious and architectural significance of historic places of worship and their essential function as centres of community life. Public disengagement with religion (as regards Christianity anyway) has made this task even more necessary. This long-established but still unique partnership between Church and State should be a model for all to follow. The Jury also appreciated the highly significant role the Trust has played in the foundation of the Future of Religious Heritage Network, where its proven model of sustainability will be pivotal for the preservation across Europe of religious heritage buildings and their interiors.

The European Heritage Awards Ceremony will take place on 11 June at the Oslo City Hall and will be co-hosted by Fabian Stang, Mayor of Oslo, Tibor Navracsics, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, and Plácido Domingo, the renowned opera singer and President of Europa Nostra.

At the ceremony, seven of the selected winners will be named as Grand Prix laureates, receiving €10,000 each, and one will receive the Public Choice Award, chosen in an online poll conducted by Europa Nostra.

Crispin Truman, Chief Executive of The Churches Conservation Trust said: “The Churches Conservation Trust has been working for more than forty five years to save churches at risk across England. The past year has been one of the most important in our history, and I am delighted that Europa Nostra has recognised our work”.

“Our expert team is setting the agenda in protecting our religious and architectural heritage, responding to funding challenges by not only finding new ways to support the conservation of our unique church buildings, but also via innovative new projects such as our flagship community building at All Souls Bolton. I look forward to the awards ceremony in June and hope we can continue to build on our success.”

About the Churches Conservation Trust 

The Churches Conservation Trust is England’s national charity for protecting historic churches at risk by taking them into direct care. First established in 1969, when many churches were falling into disrepair or, perceived as an impediment to progress, were threatened with demolition, the Trust was originally known as the Redundant Churches Fund. It works with the Church of England to secure a future for listed churches that lack a regular congregation. From its first vesting in May 1971, the Trust has now saved a collection of 347 listed buildings, is supported by over 1700 volunteers, and its buildings are visited by nearly 2 million visitors every year.

Watch the CCT video on YouTube

Share this post: