EYCH2018: Apply and win an award in the “Religious & Pilgrimage” category!

EYCH2018: Apply and win an award in the “Religious & Pilgrimage” category!

Three of the European Heritage Alliance 3.3 members – European Cultural Tourism Network (ECTN), European Travel Commission (ETC) and Europa Nostra – have joined forces to make a contribution to the European Year of Cultural Heritage 2018 by addressing one of the 10 European initiatives, namely “Tourism and Heritage: Responsible and Sustainable Tourism around Cultural Heritage”.


Together, they are launching an awards scheme entitled “Cultural Heritage as an Asset for Responsible and Sustainable Tourism”. The Awards will be given for achievements by cultural tourist destinations which have produced significant results related to enhancing visitor experience while respecting traditions and involving local communities.

Applications are open to all tourist destinations across Europe, local and regional authorities, tourism boards and associations, destination management organisations, and cultural NGOs, who can apply in one of the following heritage-related categories:


  • Religious and Pilgrimage
  • Coastal and Maritime
  • Cultural Landscapes
  • Industrial and Military
  • Historic Houses, Villages and Cities
  • Transnational Thematic Products
  • Contributions by Cultural and Creative Industries (CCIs)


Applications must be submitted by 1 July 2018, 17.00 CET. The winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony taking place during the 11th International Conference for Cultural Tourism in Pafos (Cyprus) on 25-27 October 2018, organised by ECTN.


​Cultural tourism is the fastest growing sector of European tourism and can contribute both to the sustainability and competitiveness of tourism in the European Union and beyond and to the sustainable future of heritage sites and local communities.

Cultural tourism products and services are important factors for sustainable development, contributing to the protection and promotion of cultural heritage, the extension of the tourism period as well as increasing heritage awareness of tourists and host communities, and regional GDP and its multiplier effects.

These Awards enhance the visibility of European cultural tourism destinations, create a Europe-wide platform for sharing experience and knowledge and promotes networking between destinations.



FRH is a proud member of the European Heritage Alliance 3.3

Share this post: