EU Prize for Cultural Heritage

EU Prize for Cultural Heritage

Europa Nostra Awards 2017 announced

On April 5, 2017, the European Commission together with Europa Nostra revealed the 29 winners from the ‘2017 European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europe Nostra Awards’. The awardees represent 18 EU countries, and are being recognised for their excellent and dedicated work in the field of cultural heritage.

St. Martin Chapel in Stari Brod, near Sisak, Croatia

As FRH, we want to congratulate all the winners, and are very pleased that seven religious heritage related projects received an award.

These award-winning projects are:
St. Martin’s Chapel in Stari Brod,
Roof for the ruins of the Monastry of San Juan in Burgos,
The Clérgos’ Church and Tower in Porto,
Rode Altarpiece Research and Conservation Project,
Cultural Heritage and Barrier-free Accessibility project Berlin,
Educational programme for Czech cultural heritage, and
Jewish Cultural Heritage: Educational programme.

Citizens from around the world could vote online for the Public Choice Award until 3 May and rally support for the winning project(s). The winner will be announced during European Heritage Awards Ceremony on 15 May 2017 as a part of the Europa Nostra congress taking place in Turku, Finland. We are already curious if one of the religious heritage sites will be among the winners!


Share this post: